Facebook makes connecting to people in your social network easy. A six-degrees of separation like method enables users to expand their social network by locating friends of friends–and even reestablishing contact with an acquaintance. Its easy navigable interface makes Facebook a one-stop destination for keeping in touch with anyone and everyone.
The Wall is a message board feature on Facebook member profile pages. It’s used to post any length message to a friend from a quick hello to an ode on your friendship. But be forewarned: comments can be viewed by any friend in that person’s network.
Since there is no limit to how many photos users post on their Facebook profile, they can easily share vacation or birthday albums with others in the network without having to upload them to a separate site and then e-mail everyone to check them out. Users can tag friends who are in their photos, and the pictures will appear in the friends’ profiles.
Form smaller networks within your big network by joining a group. Any member can start any type of group. Want to take a stand against drinking milk? Sure, why not? Or, want to be part of a group whose sole purpose is finding other left-handers? Go for it!
Create an event, provide the details and an invite will go out to everyone in your network, or only to the friends you invite. Guests can RSVP on the Facebook event page. As the event creator, you can enable others to pass on the invite, or keep it a closed party. Either way, it’s free promotion.
Share information beyond what’s in your profile by posting a note on your page. Or, import your external blog.
A controversial new feature on Facebook called News Feed allows you to see all the activity within your network. It works much like an RSS feed, so that when you sign in to Facebook you receive an update of all of the actions your friends have taken on Facebook. Someone posted a new album, another RSVPed to an event, one friend changed his relationship status.
You control what information is out there about you and who can see it. For example, only friends and people in your networks can view your whole profile. You can set additional privacy controls by blocking certain people from viewing your profile or you can create a limited profile that will hide the information you don’t want your friends to see.Source: